Weekend reading: Using brain science to improve writing, and the public-speaking introvert

reading treeJust like any communications or marketing professional, I read, and read a lot of articles. A lot are just fun reads to take a break from what I’m doing, and others are super informative and make me think about how I can be a better professional. It’s the latter that I’ll be sharing with you.

This week was full of gold as far as the stories go. You must read these. I promise they won’t disappoint.

How brain science can make you a better writer – A fascinating story about how we learn, and how marketers and communicators can use it to their advantage.

6 ways social media is changing (for the better) – Not only are these six great ways social media is changing for the better, author Meghan Keaney Anderson share a number of links that will help you extend your learning and begin to apply those six ways to your own business goals.

Is content marketing no longer effective - We’re in an “arms race” of content among businesses and the noise is starting to get loud. This blog has a number of good points that can make your content marketing better, and most importantly, heard.

Susan Cain helped introverts find their voice; now she’ll teach them to embrace public speaking - I find myself to have a good degree of introvertedness. And when I read Susan Cain’s book, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, I was relieved to read how her studies have show how effective introverted people can be. Now she is expanding on her experience on the speaking circuit to teach us introverts how to be comfortable speaking in front of groups of people.

Is there anything else out there right now I should see? Happy weekend reading!

One Response to Weekend reading: Using brain science to improve writing, and the public-speaking introvert

  1. Laura Click says:

    Thanks for including my post in your roundup!

    The article about brain science and writing has really piqued my curiosity. I’ll have to check that out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

